What Happened
Wireless Earbuds · Audio · Privacy · Consumer Electronics · Evaluation BriefLaunched 7 Jul 2026 · reviews to 21 Sep 2026
Nothing's third-generation budget earbuds, on test
Nothing Ear (3a): What $99 Buys
Nothing's Ear (3a) went on sale on 7 July 2026 at $99, the price of the Ear (a) it replaces. Three independent reviews found very little wrong with it: a 12 mm driver, LDAC, IP54, a parametric equaliser, and noise cancelling that took 80.9% off perceived loudness. They also found the bass turned well up out of the box, a battery figure that depends on which codec you use, and a new call-recording feature that one reviewer counts as a strength and another says she cannot get behind.
- $99launch price, the same as the Ear (a); £99 in the UK, AU$179 in Australia
- 80.9%average cut in perceived loudness with noise cancelling on, measured by SoundGuys; weakest in the treble
- 10 hper charge with noise cancelling off, in each of four runs — Nothing's AAC figure; over LDAC it quotes 6
- +8 dBstock bass above RTINGS's target; the app's eight-band equaliser brings it down
Graded by how well each item stands up Sorted by standing. What was measured and what the manufacturer claims are never in the same row.
| Standing | What is recorded | Where |
|---|---|---|
| Confirmed | On sale 7 July 2026 at $99 / £99 (AU$179), first from Nothing's own site; black, white, yellow and a new pink | Nothing's store; SoundGuys; TechRadar |
| Confirmed | 12 mm driver (the Ear (a) had 11 mm); Bluetooth 6.0 with AAC, SBC and LDAC; IP54 on buds and case; 55 mAh per bud, a 500 mAh case; 32 MB of storage in the buds; about 4.5 g per bud | Nothing's specification; SoundGuys; TechRadar |
| Measured | Noise cancelling cut perceived loudness by 80.9% on average, with the least effect in the highs | SoundGuys |
| Measured | With noise cancelling off, the battery ran out at about 10 hours in each of four runs | SoundGuys |
| Measured | Stock tuning: bass 8 dB above target, treble 2 dB below — a boosted-bass signature | RTINGS |
| Reported in use, not measured | Over LDAC with noise cancelling on, Nothing's 4.5 hours per charge was “bang on” across two weeks of listening, often above 50% volume | TechRadar |
| Manufacturer's claim, not verifiable here | Noise cancelling up to 45 dB — which Nothing's own footnote calls a theoretical maximum — effective to 5 kHz and 17.1% better than the Ear (a); bass up to 5 dB louder than the Ear (a); 6 hours per charge with noise cancelling on over AAC; a call-noise filter trained on 28 million scenarios | Nothing, directly and as told to SoundGuys and TechRadar |
| Promised, unconfirmed | Call summaries, speaker identification and calendar features, and a price for Pro transcription after the free trial, all said in July to be coming in August | Nothing, as told to TechRadar on 25 July |
| Not public | What Pro transcription costs once the three free months (120 minutes a month) end | TechRadar, 25 July |
Timeline
2024 to September 2026 Three reviews within a month of launch. One number never reached a test rig: battery life with noise cancelling on, which one reviewer checked against her own listening and no lab measured.
- 2024Nothing releases the Ear (a). There was never an Ear (1a) or (2a): the (3a) is its direct successor, numbered for the generation it shares with the Ear (3)
- 7 Jul 2026Launch at $99 / £99, on sale the same day on Nothing's site. Pink joins black, white and yellow; the case is 50% more rounded, with a row of three status lights
- 17 Jul 2026SoundGuys publishes Christian Thomas's review after four days of testing: a score of 8, 80.9% noise reduction, 10 hours with noise cancelling off
- 25 Jul 2026TechRadar publishes Becky Scarrott's review after two weeks: 4 out of 5, with an objection to call recording at its centre
- 30 Jul 2026RTINGS publishes its measurements: a boosted-bass signature, bass 8 dB above its target
- Aug 2026 (promised)Nothing had said transcription pricing and new call features would arrive in August. No source read here confirms that they did
- 21 Sep 2026Earphoneman (耳機人) carries SoundGuys' findings to Chinese-language readers
- 23 Sep 2026Nothing's UK store still lists it at £99
The Argument
Very little wrong at $99, with three qualifiers SoundGuys' verdict is the claim. The tuning, the battery figure and the recording feature are what complicate it.
SoundGuys' verdict is the case for the pair: “competent earbuds, though the stock tuning requires a heavy hand”, with “very little about the earbuds that can be viewed as a shortcoming — which is extremely notable at $99.” TechRadar agrees about the sound and the price. The qualifier every source shares is the tuning. RTINGS measured the stock bass 8 dB above its target and the treble 2 dB below. SoundGuys' simulated listening panel scored the Balanced and More Treble presets above 4.6 out of 5, but when the comparison was limited to earbuds and headphones, timbre fell to between 3 and 3.4. TechRadar heard the kick drums in Fleetwood Mac's The Chain crowd out the upper harmony. All three treat it as a setting rather than a flaw, because the app's eight-band parametric equaliser, with an adjustable Q factor, can undo it; TechRadar's reviewer eased the bass and settled on a Q of 3.2. TechRadar's reviewer also found the pair quiet, and often listened above 50% volume.
- +8 dBstock bass above target, measured by RTINGS
- 50%+the volume TechRadar's reviewer often needed for ordinary listening
The second qualifier is a number that changes depending on where it is read. SoundGuys and Nothing's launch material give 10 hours per charge and 42 with the case, noise cancelling off; TechRadar's specification table gives 6 hours and 25, and its reviewer finds the stamina one of the pair's weaker points. Nothing's own specification sheet contains both figures: 10 hours is playback over AAC, measured at 50% volume, and 6 hours is playback over LDAC, the higher-resolution codec that is one of the pair's selling points. This article's reading of TechRadar's case totals, 25 and 18 hours, is that they match the sheet's talk-time line rather than LDAC playback, which the sheet puts at 28 and 20; no source says so. SoundGuys' four runs confirm only the AAC figure with noise cancelling off, because its test rig could not keep the wear sensor satisfied with noise cancelling on. TechRadar, listening over LDAC for two weeks, calls Nothing's 4.5 hours with noise cancelling on “bang on” — accurate, and still disappointing.
| Nothing's sheet | Per charge, ANC off | Per charge, ANC on | With case, ANC off | With case, ANC on |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Playback, AAC | 10 | 6 | 42 | 25 |
| Playback, LDAC | 6 | 4.5 | 28 | 20 |
| Talk time | 6 | 4.5 | 25 | 18 |
| Reported in use by TechRadar (LDAC) | not reported | 4.5, “bang on” | not reported | not reported |
| Measured by SoundGuys (AAC) | about 10 | not measured | not measured | not measured |
The third qualifier is the feature Nothing led with. The buds carry 32 MB of storage: pinching both stems saves an Audio Snapshot of up to 60 seconds of whatever is playing, and Call Recording stores up to two hours of calls, which sync to the Nothing X app for playback and transcription. Transcription and recording need a Nothing account, which SoundGuys flags for anyone uneasy about a company seeing how they use a product; beyond that it lists call recording among “very uncommon user-centric features” that stop the pair feeling cheap. TechRadar's reviewer makes it the centre of her review. On a UK phone call the other party hears “a brief beep”; phone to phone there is no spoken notice; the tone still plays when the wearer's microphones are muted. Nothing's app shows a tutorial asking users to get permission, and its reviewers' guide cites ISO 27001, ISO 27701 and EN 18031. Her objection is to the burden landing on the buyer, and to the marketing — Nothing's own page opens the feature with “Keep forgetting what your therapist says?” Both reviews agree on what it cannot do: record conversations around the wearer, or the wearer's own voice. This article's reading is that the two do not disagree about what the feature does, only about whether it belongs among the selling points.
What Others Add
Measured, claimed, and left out The lab and the reviewers on sound, noise and calls; the manufacturer's footnotes; and what the price leaves out.
Sound
Bass first
- Boosted-bass signature: bass 8 dB above RTINGS's target, treble 2 dB below
- Simulated panel: above 4.6 of 5 on the Balanced and More Treble presets; timbre 3 to 3.4 against earbuds and headphones alone
- Hi-Res Audio certified; LDAC up to 24-bit/96 kHz
Noise
Good, not flagship
- 80.9% off perceived loudness — about the Google Pixel Buds 2a's level, and better with most common noises
- Weakest in the highs; SoundGuys suggests aftermarket tips
- High, Mid, Low and Adaptive modes. TechRadar places AirPods Pro 3 and Bose QuietComfort Ultra Earbuds (Gen 2) above it, at far higher prices
Calls
Strong in wind
- Three MEMS microphones per bud, behind heavy mesh against wind
- The windy sample impressed most; echo in a reverberant room was handled less well
- A finicky wear sensor dropped noise cancelling once during testing; refitting the bud fixed it
Missing
What $99 leaves out
- No wireless charging
- No personalised hearing test and no Super Mic, both on the Ear (3)
- It does have two-device multipoint, a low-lag mode, in-ear detection, an ear-tip fit test and Find My Earbuds
Two footnotes on Nothing's own product page are worth reading before its headline numbers. The 45 dB of noise cancelling is “the theoretical maximum limit”, from Nothing's laboratory — so the one independent figure, 80.9% of perceived loudness, is not a check on it: the two measure different things. And the 10 hours assume noise cancelling off, 50% volume and AAC. TechRadar's reviewer listened above 50% and still found the 4.5-hour figure for LDAC with noise cancelling on accurate, though disappointing. Against its predecessor, TechRadar puts the Ear (a) at 9.5 hours per charge with noise cancelling off and about 5.5 with it on, and each Ear (3a) bud at 4.53 g against the Ear (a)'s 4.8 g. For stamina it points to the Cambridge Audio Melomania A100: 11 hours per charge, up to 39 with the case, with aptX Lossless.
Conclusion
Who it suits, and what to hold loosely Not a ranking: which needs point at this pair, and which point away from it.
Suits
A buyer who will open the app
- An Android phone with LDAC and a budget of about $99 — TechRadar names Sony and Samsung phones
- Anyone happy to spend a few minutes in the equaliser: every source names the stock bass as the thing to change
- Commuters: the noise cancelling handles a normal commute, and the microphones hold up in wind
- Anyone who wants on-bud call recording, which works without a Nothing phone
Look elsewhere
If one of these matters more
- Long listening over LDAC: Nothing quotes 6 hours per charge; TechRadar points to the Cambridge Audio Melomania A100 at 11
- The strongest noise cancelling available: both reviews point further up the price range
- Wireless charging, or a personal hearing profile — the Ear (3) has the latter
- Unease about recording in earbuds: TechRadar's reviewer says she cannot get behind the feature
What is established
On sale since 7 July 2026 at $99, the Ear (a)'s price; 12 mm driver, LDAC, IP54 and 32 MB of on-bud storage; 80.9% measured cut in perceived loudness; about 10 hours per charge with noise cancelling off over AAC; bass well above target out of the box, correctable in the app; and call recording announced to the other party by a tone.
What to hold loosely
Every noise-cancelling figure in decibels, the 5 dB bass gain over the Ear (a) and the 6 hours with noise cancelling on over AAC are Nothing's, and nobody here measured them. The August features and pricing were promises. And the reading that TechRadar's case totals are talk time is this article's, not a source's.